For those who are diagnosed with lactose intolerance, Divino Food brings you yogurt without animal protein.
Kefir is a fermented beverage traditionally made from cow's milk or goat's milk. This is done by adding "seeds" of kefir to milk, where "seeds" here mean cultures of yeasts and lactic acid bacteria that resemble a cauliflower in appearance.
During a period, more than 24 hours, the microorganisms in the seeds multiply and ferment the sugars in the milk, transforming it into kefir. The seeds are then removed from the liquid and used again. So, basically, kefir is the drink, but kefir seeds are the "start kit" you use to make the drink. Originating parts of Eastern Europe and Southwest Asia, the name is derived from the Turkish word Keyif, which means "feel good" after eating.
Lactic acid bacteria transform lactose into milk into lactic acid, so kefir tastes like sour yogurt, but has a finer consistency.